What are the four C’s / 4 C’s of diamond grading?

« Back to Previous Page

I know about carat, but what are the other ones?

Marked as spam
Posted by Robert Hensley
Asked on July 18, 2014 10:53 pm
Private answer

The Four C’s of Diamond Evaluation

At least 13 factors affect diamond value, including fluorescence, table percentage, symmetry and other crucial details. The 4 Cs are just a good place to start.


Contrary to what most dealers will tell you, knowing the 4 Cs is NOT enough to compare diamond prices. Learn the Four C’s, but definitely Go Beyond the Four C’s as well.

The 4 Cs:


The cut actually pertains to both the shape of the diamond and to the make (how well a diamond was fashioned to good proportions and polish). Shapes include round, marquise, princess, radiant, pear, oval, emerald, and heart, and a few rare shapes. The Make includes details such as table percentage, depth percentage, polish, and symmetry, among others.

Learn more about cut, shape and make.


The color of diamonds varies from colorless (highest quality) to many shades of yellow (less rare). Some people ignore the “popular” trend toward the colorless and prefer the warmth of light yellow tints.

Learn more about color in our tutorials.


Diamonds are a natural substance, and no two diamonds are exactly alike. Nature signs each of its creations with telltale inclusions, or internal flaws. A diamond with more inclusions will be less rare, so it will be less expensive. But this does not necessarily mean it will be less beautiful to the naked eye.

Learn more about clarity in our tutorials.

Carat Weight

The weight of diamonds is measured in carats. Larger diamonds are much more rare, so a 2-carat gem will be worth significantly more than 2 diamonds of the same quality weighing 1 carat each.

Learn more about carat weight.

Marked as spam
Posted by Robert Hensley
Answered on July 18, 2014 10:53 pm
« Back to Previous Page